top of page

Now officially a hipster / tech details for phonotropes

I'm now armed with a record player bought off Gumtree from a bunch of lovely UWE art students in Hotwells:

Also in my collection, a postcard vinyl of a Stevie Nicks single to get an idea of how these postcards are put together:

It may just be my record player, but this sounded ridiculously scratchy (although I tried a flexidisc and it was fine). Standard postcard size

I haven't found anything online that actually tells you the science behind a phonotrope, so the only info I've found was on this Lynda tutorial:

Typically animations are done at 45rpm.

My camera:

The Sony DSC-HX9v shoots video at 1080p resolution at 60 fps, it doesn't support shooting at 24p unfortunately. The full list of modes supported is: 1920x1080 @ 60 fps, 1440x1080 @ 30 fps, 1280x720 @ 30 fps and 640x480 @ 30 fps.

Video editing software is


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page