top of page

A pre-evaluation evaluation

As I'm starting to add the final touches to my project I'm thinking about:

a) Some kind of slipcase to tie the postcard set together and provide a bit more of an explanation to people who don't know about the label. (Also protect the very delicate grooves on the postcard)

b) Questioning if my project is too twee, watery and sentimental.

c) What would happen if my postcards were actually released into the big, bad world.

The slipcase - there is quite a lot to explain about the postcards to people. About the animation, Sarah's history and postcard vinyls. I'm thinking "Postcards from There and Back Again Lane: Sarah Records Reissues".

On whether it's too watery:

I saw Rob Lowe's set of Anti-Tory posters recently. I couldn't help but smile. As sentimental as I can be, I tend to not mince my words when I think something is ridiculous. It reminded me of the whole fanzine way of producing images - it's quick and dirty and says what it needs to.

So I wondered - as the postcards are a reflection of Bristol and the record label in 2017, maybe there should be a response to 2017's err... chaotic political situation? In the first years of the label's existence, it voiced a strong opposition to Thatcher's government, in particular her quote from a Sunday times interview in 1981:

It's potentially a bit of a minefield designing something based on assumptions on their political stance, though. I'll just leave it as a thought.

As I mentioned in a previous post, nothing about any of the Sarah releases were intended to be collectable/increase in value. It's pretty hard to design something with the innocent intention that it will be about good ol' fashioned music sharing through the post, when it's associated with a defunct label whose limited release vinyls now command a high price. I know if it was commercially released they'd end up on eBay for silly money. Maybe it could be a limited run of 100 (to match the number of Sarah releases) that are sent out to random addresses around Bristol and people can do what they will with them?


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page