top of page

Simplifying things - duotone photos

So, in my head these 3 postcards were going to be trippy, full A6 animations with a composite pattern of my lo-fi dancing folk and each location broken down to form a pattern. That's not to say I won't give it a whirl if I have time. I was thinking of having something like Jane Kendall's lovely linoprints as the full animation/image:

After a chat with Alastair, we went back to the idea of duotone photos. It seems like it could work, I just want to add a different slant so that I'm not just creating a copied version of Sarah's 'look'.

I wandered out to Birdcage walk and St.Werburghs city farm cafe and got a few snaps, which I've duotoned up.

M Shed cranes will follow when I have access to a better camera.

If stepping away from the safety of my Mac to venture out into daylight wasn't brave enough, I decided to beat the stereotype of graphic designers only being capable of monosyllabic grunts to communicate and made some friends:

In all seriousness, I can sometimes get very fixated on trying to make something complex work and knowing when to step back is something I'm getting better at. Heading out into the sunshine was a welcome break (!!) and things are finally starting to feel as if they're moving forward on this project!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page