top of page

Adding a modern twist to Sarah Records

A clearly backdated post as when Penny came in on Friday for our final presentation, she was bombarded with new visuals.

(Printed versions in my workbook)

The duotone images weren't really doing it for me. They are striking images but it was pretty much a case of CLICK-CLICK-CLICK in Photoshop and you're done. (which, to be fair is the Sarah way so that point doesn't really stand up).

I wanted something that looked forward instead of backwards. Sarah Records is no longer running, so a copycat of the visuals would just be a bit more of the same. I wasn't aware of the label while they were running, it was something I discovered as a music fan in my teens - other modern bands have cited The Field Mice as an influence despite the members being in their early twenties! The audience won't just be people looking wistfully back at the good old days. Having a more modern slant without being overly 'designery' seems a better fit to me. It's about sharing music in an analogue way. Who knows, it could even attract some new fans.

I took inspiration from the double exposure images that the kids are using these days (again an analogue photographic technique that is tricky to pull off but can easily be done in Photoshop now):

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page