top of page

Client feedback - 12/05/17

Date: 12th May 2017

Progress of brief: Development

Issues discussed:

- Difficulty finding information online about animation style. I realised it was under a different name (phenakistoscope not phonotrope). Found more info

- Delay due to not

Client feedback:

Penny was happy with how things have progressed. She also mentioned as a sidenote by playing around with different visual styles, I wasn't considering the client's needs - I'll keep that in mind.

Action points:

- Make a schedule so you can get all you want to achieved by the project deadline A list of practical points for you to work through, relax ...most of the hard thinking seems to be done – just executing to an appropriate Sarah Records standard!

My next tasks:

- Came across a designer called Drew Tetz, who has created some amazingly complex phenakistoscope designs. Emailed him to ask if he had any tips to help with my design.

- Keep plugging away at my animation

Drew's reply:

Hi Lisa!

Thank you so much for writing, I'm excited that you're working on a project like this! Love the connection to Sarah Records.

I personally have always worked at 30fps, so it's a little difficult for me to speak to 24fps. Having said that, if memory serves from my brief time experimenting with different frame rates, a lower frame rate means fewer frames, which would be good news for your goal of a clearer space. Even at 24fps, though, I think you'd need at least 30 frames to get a nice clear isolation at 45RPM. (I personally use 40 frames when shooting at 30fps.)

There is a strange balancing act to it all, figuring out whether you want a bigger image with less motion or a smaller picture with more going on. Unfortunately, you'll probably have a difficult time getting down to 8 frames without either bumping the speed up to ~100RPM+ or dropping the frame rate to 10fps. My personal preference is generally sticking with the three commonly accepted turntable speeds, people can always zoom their cameras in but they may not be able to speed their platters up.

One big tip that may help: you may find it easier to start with the animation as a video, crop it, & export the frames. After that, you can load them as a contact sheet in photoshop & warp it into a circle with polar coordinates. Depends on the content going in, of course, but occasionally a much easier workflow.

Haha! Great update Lisa – your creative journey with your tortured asides make me laugh ... But in a good way! I think/hope your painful progress is all part of the Sarah Records ‘back to basics/no frills’ creative progress. If at any time the pain gets too much don’t hesitate to get in touch for encouragement/assistance. Remember not to take on too much and try to enjoy the process! Keep up the good work and don’t forget to make a schedule so you can get all you want to achieved by the project deadline.

No offence taken, you've been nothing but encouraging so far! I write it in that self-effacing way to get a laugh. I'm sure once I understand the mechanics of the animation, things will progress quickly. On that note: I have come across a designer called Drew Tetz who has published a few tutorials and done some clever work. Will shoot him an email and see if he has any wisdom to offer! Thanks, Lisa

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page