top of page

Lightbulb moment! Postcard records

I was thinking about flexi discs (as you do) and wondered if I could draw on a flexi disc and use the transparency to create an animation.

After consulting Google for companies that press/print flexidiscs, I came across postcard records.

This could be quite fun to work with visually, fits with the label's ethos of sharing music out of love of music and could relate to the sense of place (ie. "With love from Bristol" kind of thing). The sound quality isn't amazing as it's thin card and a thin plastic veneer but I think the emphasis is on sharing the song.

My inital thoughts are a scene from Bristol that creates an animation when it spins (if I can actually pull that off!).

This video is really interesting to watch and covers some of the history of postcard discs:

This company do small runs of postcard records, that's the good news. The bad news is that they aren't accepting new orders until the end of May.

This company explain the pressing and printing process really well. Oddly enough, I don't have 1000 Euro going spare. Nor do I have a need for 500 flexi discs!

I wonder if there's a way to make your own...?


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page