top of page

Pinterest Sarah Records board and 'zines' done a la Graphic Design

A couple of thoughts on Alastair's suggestion of creating a zine to document my idea generation process (partly to clear things up in my own head):

There's a bit of a clash between Sarahs' ethos of getting to the nearest photocopier to produce their zine and my usual planned way of working. Also my aim of having something really well crafted as my outcome. Layouts aren't my natural habitat, so I'd have to put a lot of planning to put something together that looks stylishly chaotic! (I'm not sure my poor brain can put together a grid structure of organised chaos, plus David Carson and Katherine McCoy make me nervous!). I also don't really want to create something just because it's the visual style of the season...

I found this a while ago, but couldn't find it on Pinterest to keep all my visual ideas together so that it makes sense to another human being! Designer Megan Young's zine has the same kind of chaotic aesthetic but looks a bit more modern and polished:

Here's my Pinterest board of visual inspiration:

A couple of gig posters that stuck out for me:

These could work well for a zine or my idea of a postcard vinyl.

I feel pretty uncomfortable right now, especially as I'm grappling with an existential crisis questioning if I'm a closet hipster...? What visually sums up Sarah Records? What do fans want to see?


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page