top of page

Emma's House zoetrope / cyclotrope pt. II

I simplified.

It didn't work as well as expected, however I know this is because:

1. There were no gaps in the paper to create the separation in the image to trick the eye into seeing an animation / image being deconstructed.

2. It wasn't a cyclical animation

3. Spinning issues - it wasn't fully stabilised and the camera angle needed adjusting to the angle that it was attached to my wheel.

I did sort out the stabilisation issues, and used the skewers to attach my wheel to the top of my forks. It wasn't perfect but certainly beat awkwardly balancing it on a bucket out of sheer impatience and I managed to avoid some of the more elaborate suggestions made by my friends who got drawn in to this wobbly wheel scenario.

Whatever weird and wonderful things I could have balanced, attached or embedded the wheel onto at least it with a bit more cropping, it lives up to the golden rule of TV and animation - the audience could be completely oblivious to how it's done!

Maybe I should have just hunted down a record player!?

cyclotrope set up
Sarah Records Fountain Island compilation cover art

Just realised my camera and bike set-up looks a little like the Fountain Island compilation cover. I'm sure our recycling box can provide a beer bottle or two to acts as props to recreate this ;-)

 

Through the magic of Photoshop and 15 minutes of my time, I put together a GIF with more or less what I wanted to achieve.

House animated GIF


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page